Curbing that Sweet Tooth

As I am walking through the first couple month of clean eating, I am realizing that when I allowed sugar back into my life, I was simply relapsing on my addiction. The harsh truth about sugar is that it is more addictive than cocaine and more detrimental to our gut and our brain than many things!! According to Dr. Mercola, the average American consumes 32 teaspoons of sugar a day! The high consumption of sugar leads to kidney disease, liver failure, insulin resistance and obesity! This is an epidemic sweeping the nation. One of the main sources of sugar in our food is High Fructose Corn Syrup. I am surprised by how many people think that this is not a problem. Look at this picture.

fructose

So all of that to say that getting sugar out of your diet is not an easy task, but when you do, it will change your life. Over the past month I have had my cravings, yes, but I know that without sugar my body is not inflamed, my brain is clearer and I am healthier overall. So lets talk about how to quench that sugar urge… I have two weapons in my arsenal. The first is a product from Arbonne’s nutritional line. It is called a fit chew. They come in chocolate, caramel and lemon. My favorite by far is the caramel. They help to curb your appetite as well as quench that sweet tooth!

arbonne_chews_meet_the_product_part1

My second weapon for the crazy sweet tooth is brownies… Yes you read that right. I love to make brownies with protein powder. I got my recipe from the site http://more.kelleyfcarpenter.com/sweets/ They turned out so good and they really help with carb and sweet cravings! I wouldn’t have them everyday if I were you, but they are a great treat!

Leave a comment